30th ANNUAL HIGH SCHOOL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD BANQUET A SUCCESS

By Roland Hwang

The ACA has been leading a scholarship program for outstanding high school seniors for 30 years. Again this year, the High School Achievement Award Banquet was a success. It was held on Sunday, December 8 at the Chinese Community Center. A nine-course banquet was served to 70 people.

For the twelfth year, the Detroit Chinese Engineers Association joined as a co-sponsor. The ACA awarded nine scholarships, the DCEA awarded two scholarships.

Keynote speaker Jennifer Xu, a University of Michigan medical student and a 2009 honoree from Troy gave her advice for success to the students. Keynote Frances Kai-Hwa Wang, journalist and blogger and former American Citizens for Justice Executive Director, spoke about remembering where you come from, and your roots. She gave advice that the parents typically want to give, and then gave advice that some parents may not want to give, such as "to have fun."

The honorees are as follows:

Honorees High School Laine Chan Cranbrook Weifong Chou Athens Amanda Guo Troy Nan Hu Pioneer Jessica Jiang Novi Grace Kao Okemos Lillian Liang Trov Kevin Ni Plymouth Preeti Rishi Athens Julian Sanders Athens Allen Wang Troy

Eric Wang Rochester Adams

Maxine Hao Hao Wang Pontius Huron
Wan Wang Plymouth

Daniel Wu West Bloomfield

Karen Xiong Northville Alan Xu Huron

Brian Xu Detroit Country Day

Esther Yan Athens
Kevin Yang Huron
Victor Yang Troy
Aillen You Northville

Karen Young Detroit Country Day

Alex Yue Canton

Aaron Zeng Detroit Country Day Joy Zhang Detroit Country Day

Amy Zhou Novi

There was an introduction of the ACA Scholarship Recipients –

ACA Best All Around – Kevin Yang
ACA 2nd Scholarships – Katherine Young and Brian Xu
Mabel Peng Memorial Scholarship for best academics - Aaron Zeng
Chinese Language Scholarships – Preeti Rishi, Aillen You, and Esther Yan
P.L. Siak Scholarship – Jessica Jiang
Acacia 168 Scholarship – Allen Xiu

DCEA's two scholarships will be issued at its banquet.

Many thanks to the committee including Roland Hwang, Iris Shen Van Buren, Gracia Lee, Lucy King all of ACA; Michael Wang and Coco Comiske of DCEA; and Arcie Gemino for CAPA. Shenlin Chen and Shirley Yee assisted the committee.

All in all, it was a very gratifying event. Congratulations to the honorees of the Class of 2014!